SAMBUCO FLOWER SYRUP ::: ::: ::: SCIROPPO DI FIORI DI ELDERBERRY

Summer has yet to begin, and I am already thinking about the end of it. ::: ::: ::: L’estate non è ancora arrivata, e io sono già a pensare alla sua fine.

P1330926

Blame it on Sambuco. The monstrous bushy tree with flat clusters of white flowers that could eat my garage if I let it. ::: ::: ::: Da la colpa al Sambuco. Quel mostroso cespuglioso albero con piatte ammasse di fiori bianche che si potrebbe mangiare il mio garage se lo lascio.

P1210423

Ever since my mother-in-law gifted me a little jar of the jam she made with the whole dark black berries it produces in August,  I have been counting the days until I will get to make my own. ::: ::: ::: Da quando mia suocera mi ha regalato un vasetto di marmellata fatto da lei con l’intere scure bacche nere che produce nel mese di agosto, ho contato i giorni fino a quando mi metterò a fare il mio proprio.

::: ::: :::

P1330781

Recently, a chance visit to a friend who is both a chef and gardener,  introduced me to another wondrous delicacy from the same tree that I can make from the flowers, in May! ::: ::: ::: Di recente, una visita per caso a un amico chef e ortolano, mi ha introdotto a un’altra meravigliosa delizia del stesso albero che posso fare dalle fiore in Maggio!

P1330923

Big thanks to Stefano for sharing his own production and recipe for this refreshing and immune system boosting syrup.  ::: ::: ::: Mille grazie a Stefano per aver condiviso la propria produzione e ricetta per fare questo rinfrescante e immunitario aumentando sciroppo.

P1330806

Next week I am going to write, with calm, about my experience of making this syrup, but since it’s a Saturday, and the flowers are now in bloom here in Italy, I am including a link to a recipe that I feel covers the experience with great detail, care and wisdom. ::: ::: ::: La prossima settimana, vado a scrivere, con calma, sulla mia esperienza di fare questo sciroppo, ma essendo che è un Sabato, e in Italia, i fiori sono in fioritura adesso, includo un link a una ricetta che mi sento copre la esperienza con grande dettaglia, cura e saggezza.

The only thing I would add right now, is to do a little on-line research before starting, so you know something about the benefits and possible side effects of Elderberry. Here are one and two links that look at elderberry from different perspectives. ::: ::: ::: L’unica cosa che aggiungerebbe adesso, è da fare un po di ricerca on line prima di iniziare per capire meglio qualcosa su i benefici e possibile effetti collattorali di Sambuco. Qui ci sono uno and due links che guarda Elderberry da due diversi prospettivi.

::: ::: :::

P1340040::: ::: :::

