THE CRAZY ::: ::: ::: IL PAZZO

Four Generations of Women

“From a crazy hole, a crazy wind blows.” ::: ::: :::  “Da un buco pazzo, tira un vento pazzo.”

As a child, this was one of the many euphemisms my Hungarian Grandma Maggie applied to my psychological bumps and bruises like a Balm of Gilead. ::: ::: :::  Da bambina, questo era una delle tante eufemismi la mia nonna Ungherese Maggie mi applicava alle mie percosse e lividi psicologici come un Balsamo da Gilead.

She would say it in English, but she was sewing a thread of Hungary, the mysterious homeland she’d left as a small child, into my American imagination. ::: ::: ::: Lei melo diceva in Inglese, ma cuciva un filo dell’Ungheria, il suo misterioso patria lasciata da piccola, dentro della mia immaginazione Americana.

Just like the bedtime stories of the “incery-pincery” man and all the “incery pincery” things in his “incery pincery” world whispered Hungary into my dreams. ::: ::: :::  Giusto come i racconti della buona notte dell’uomo “incery pincery” e tutte le sue cose “incery pincery” nel suo mondo “incery pincery”, sussurrava L’Ungheria dentro delle mie sogni.

And the warm sweetness of my great-grandmother Sarimmama’s paper thin palacinta rolled up with melted butter and strawberry jam had put the taste of Hungary into my mouth. ::: ::: ::: E il dolce bontà della mia bisnonna Sarimamma e le sue calde palacinte arrotolate con burro sfuso e marmellata di fresa mettevano il sapore dell’Ungheria nella mia bocca.

“Consider the source“ was the comforting wisdom I took from her words. ::: ::: ::: “Considera il fonte” era il confortante saggezza che mi davano sue parole.

Words I ingested and assimilated as my own while I moved through a world obsessed with defining and containing me, without ever really acknowledging that I even existed at all. ::: ::: ::: Parole che ho ingerito ed assimilato come le miei mentre muovevo attraverso un mondo che sembrava ossessionata di definirmi e contenermi senza mai veramente riconoscere la mia esistenza affatto.

A world that resented my resistance to it’s confines.  A world that could not see how I could be so many different things, even contradictory things, all at the same time, and all in the same body. ::: ::: ::: Un mondo infastidita dalla mia resistenza alle suoi confini. Un mondo che non potrà vedere come  potrà essere cosi tante diverse cose, anche contraddittorie, tutte al stesso momento, nello stesso corpo.

They had a name for that: Crazy. Loca. Pazza. ::: ::: ::: Avevano un nome per quello:  Pazza. Loca. Crazy.

>>> THE HOLE ::: ::: ::: IL BUCO

One thought on “THE CRAZY ::: ::: ::: IL PAZZO

Comments are closed.