FOR MY FATHER

lavender-1350017

There is a certain moment in early summer that if I catch my lavender in it’s first bloom, I can harvest in hopes for a second. ::: ::: ::: C’è un certo momento all’inizio del estate che se becco la mia lavanda in la prima fioritura, posso raccogliere in speranza per una seconda.

lavender-1170367

I have missed this moment for years. ::: ::: :::  Sono anni che perdo questo opportunità.

lavender-1170330

As some one who is always late, I am surprised one afternoon to actually catch a gorgeous bloom and new soft pale green shoots coming into being. ::: ::: ::: Come una persona sempre in ritardo, sono sorpresa un pommeriggio di adirittura beccare una bellissima fioritura e palidi verdi germogli.

lavender-1170844

My mind is heavy with the loss and confusion of the South Carolina massacre, and I live in Italy, so I do not realize until after my silent prayer for a second bloom to come before the first anniversary of my father’s passing, that it is, in fact, Father’s Day.  ::: ::: ::: La mia mente è pesante con la perdita e confusione del massacro nel Sud Carolina, e vivo in Italia, perciò, non mi rendo conto fino a dopo di farmi una preghiera silenziosa per avere una seconda fioritura prima del nuovo anniversario della morte del mio Babbio, che è, in effetti, il Giorno dello Babbo.

lavender-1170364

I drink in the rich sweet and pungent perfume of the cuttings as I tie them with a whisp of Broom. ::: ::: ::: Bevo il rico dolce e pungente profumo delle talee mentre li lego con un filo di Ginestra.

lavender-2

And I thank my father for finding new ways to love and guide me.  For being an active participant in the creation of new rituals and ways of seeing the world. For still trying to protect me. From the Other Side. ::: ::: ::: E ringrazio il mio Babbo per avere trovato nuovi modi d’amarmi e guidarmi. Per essere un partecipante attivo nella creazione di nuovi riti e modi di vedere il mondo. Per ancora provando di proteggermi. Dall’Aldilà.

DadandISF

As of today, September 4, 2015, the first anniversary of my father’s passing, the lavender has not rebloomed. Nonetheless, I still feel like he and I are in sync. And that I, without even trying, am somehow in a strange way, right on time. ::: ::: ::: Fino ad oggi, il 4 Settembre 2015, il primo anniversario della morte del mio Babbo, la lavanda non ha rifiorita. Ma mi sento come lui ed io siamo in sincronia. E che io, anche senza provare, sono in un strano modo, giusto in orario.

P1350013lavendar-1350005lavendar-1350016

