THE LOVE THAT CALLS FORTH

THE LOVE THAT CALLS FORTH ::: ::: ::: L’AMORE CHE RICHIAMA

PART ONE

My dear friend tells me, “I want to know more about the love that calls forth a new country to call home.” ::: ::: ::: La mia cara amica mi dice, “Io voglio sapere di più sull’amore che chiama avanti un nuovo paese di chiamare casa.”

My husband responds, “That’s easy. Just tell her you love the Bell’uomo who led you to the food you love.” ::: ::: ::: Il mio marito risponde. “Quello è facile. Solo dirla che ami Il ‘Bell’uomo’ che ti ha guidata al cibo che ami.”

That is true. Though, I would also add that it was the food that led me to the land, and the land that led me home. ::: ::: ::: E’ vero. Però, anche aggiungerei che era il cibo che mi ha guidata alla terra, e la terra che mi ha portata a casa.

And that, as a life-long runaway and adult survivor of child sexual abuse, “Home” is about feeling safe enough to be in my body. ::: ::: ::: E che, come una fugitiva di vita e un adulto sopravissuta d’abusi sessuali sui minori, “Casa” si tratta di sentirmi abbastanza sicura per essere dentro il mio corpo.

In essence, that is more or less what happened. But that would make for a very, very short book, no? ::: ::: ::: Essenzialmente, più o meno, questo è ciòe che è accaduto. Ma quello farebbe un libro molto, molto corto, no?

So here’s a little bigger bite of the flavorful story that’s cooking on my back burner. ::: ::: ::: Perciò ecco un bocconcino un po di più grande della storia molto saporito che sto cuocendo sul mio fornello dietro.

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

2001, NEW YORK, NEW YORK

::: ::: :::

My life was at a crossroads when I found this bowl. ::: ::: ::: La mia vita era a una crocevia quando ho trovato questa ciotola.

one green bowl copy

Not the kind where you get to choose between two options. To stay or go. Play it safe or leap into the unknown. ::: ::: ::: Non il genere dove puoi scegliere tra due opzioni. Rimanere o andarsene. Farlo sicuro o saltare nel sconosciuto.

But rather when the Universe abruptly breaks your world over its knee. Destroying life as you know it. Unceremoniously throwing the pieces to the heavens. ::: ::: ::: Ma invece quando l’universo bruscamente spacca il tuo mondo sopra il suo ginocchio. Distruggendo la vita come la conoscevi. E senza tanta cerimonia getta i pezzi al cielo.

Leaving you to wonder, what will fall back to earth? Incinerate on re-entry? And what is destined to become a distant sparkling dot in the infinite of the night sky? ::: ::: :::  Lascandote indovinare, ciò che riaccaderebbe giù sulla terra? Quello che sarà bruciata al rientro? E cos’è destinata a diventare un distante sfavillante puntino nell’infinito del cielo notturno?

It was to be a year of ashes. ::: ::: ::: Sarebbe un anno di cenere.

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

FROM THE SMOLDERING wake of loss, I daydreamed life and promise out of the deep soft bamboo green corners of this square bowl. ::: ::: ::: Dall’ardente scia di perdita, sognavo vita e promessa fuori dei prodondi dolci verdi bambu angoli di questa ciottola quadrata.

I had visions of eating good meals from it. And on a whim that I might find someone else to share them with, I bought two. ::: ::: ::: Io avevo visioni di mangare paste buone fuori di essa. E con il ghiribizzo di possibilmente trovare qualcuno con cui condivirli, ne ho comprate due.

two green bowls copy

::: ::: :::

2002, PUERTO RICO

::: ::: :::

A year later, when I first saw Massimo at a party on the roof of a theatre in Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico, I heard a disembodied voice say, “Don’t talk to this man if you are not ready to change your life, forever.” ::: ::: ::: Un anno dopo, quando per la prima volta vedi Massimo a una festa sul tetto di un teatro in Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico, ho sentito una voce incorporeo dire “non parlare con questo uomo se non sei pronta a cambiare la tua vita per sempre.”

No threat, just a soft fact I inadvertently accepted, when his Cheshire cat smile pulled a beaming “Hola” from my lips. ::: ::: :::   Nessuna minaccia, solo un dolce fatto che accettò quando il suo sorriso del gatto Cheshire inadvvertitamente tirò un raggiante “Hola” dalle le mie labre.

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

::: ::: :::

NB PR MAX copy

 The Love That Calls Forth – Two >>>

3 thoughts on “THE LOVE THAT CALLS FORTH

Comments are closed.